site stats


Club León wins the 2013 Liga MX Apertura Finals

With Club León 2 goal advantage in the first game on Thursday night, Club America needed to play a perfect game to have a chance to repeat as Liga MX Champion. Both teams started the game strong but thirteen minutes into the first half, Mauro Boselli scores the first goal putting León on top 1-0. When things seem impossible for Club America, Leon’s defense started to loosen up and allowed Club America to score a goal at forty two minutes in the first half.  Club America ended the first half strong while León seemed to loose focus especially on the defensive side. At the start of the second half, Club America continued to attack with several shots but could not score. Club America’s frustration was León’s young goalie,  William Yarbrough who played the game of his life blocking several sure goals.  It seemed that Club America was getting stronger continuing to attack when León finally took control of the game with Juan Gonzalez Ibarra scoring a goal at the fifty two minute mark and a third and final goal by Edwin Hernandez at the Seventy third minute mark of the game. Club León simply would not allow the night to unravel and in the end, Club León was very patient, fought hard, but never stopped playing and what better way to end this historic season then to win it’s sixth championship on the biggest stadium in Mexico, the Estadio Azteca.  Club León becomes only the second visiting team to clinch a championship in Estadio Azteca. After the game, León captain Rafa Márquez ended the evening by lifting  the championship trophy high in the sky.  Finally the great Rafa Márquez was able to win his first Mexican title and help León win it’s sixth Liga MX title, adding another chapter to this historic team.

Promoted Content

0 Responses to "Club León wins the 2013 Liga MX Apertura Finals"