There are major screw ups, and there’s this. The referee of a lower division match between Brazilian squads Gremio and Marilia made what’s arguably one of the biggest errors in the history of refereeing: he disallowed a blatant goal because the ball broke past the net. That’s right, folks. This wasn’t one of those shots in which you can’t tell whether the ball crossed the line or not (England-Germany, anyone?). In this scenario, the ball very clearly went past the line… and then past the net. But no, the ref had his head way up his rear (or perhaps he was too concerned with getting pantsed?) that he called it a non-goal. Idiot.
If you enjoyed this, consider posting a comment or share with your friends.