site stats


Cuba Wins The Caribbean Series

The Cuban baseball team beat Mexico 3-2 Sunday winning the Caribbean series title for the first time since 1960. They pulled ahead with Yulieski Gourriel’s 8th inning homer. In a huge upset the Cuban team beat the undefeated Venezuelan team on Saturday to advance to the final against Mexico. Cuba had only won one game in the semi-finals and the Venezuelan team looked unstoppable. Slugger Fredrich Cepeda hit in four runs to lead the Venezuelans 8-4. Meanwhile, Mexico beat the Domincan Republic 5-4 on Saturday. One of the main reasons that Cuba hasn’t won since 1960 has to do with the ban on players being on any foreign teams. So, while other countries have players in the major leagues coming back to play for their countries, Cuba lagged behind. But things are changing.

The game was played in Puerto Rico and the Cuban team was allowed to play there easily even though it is an American protectorate because of the ease in relations between Cuba and the U.S. The stands were full of talent scouts from the major leagues who were there to gauge Cuba’s potential talent. Since the announcement by President Obama about normalizing relations with Cuba, the major leagues have been salivating at the thought of all the potential players they are going to be able to recruit from the Island.

Promoted Content

0 Responses to "Cuba Wins The Caribbean Series"