site stats


Hispanic Academy Award Winners

The Oscar nominations came out this week and there are a couple of Latino names on the list. Most notably Demian Bichir for the steaming turd “A Better Life”, (we aren’t crazy about this). The oh so hot Berenice Bejo also got a nod for “The Artist”. In Oscar history, there have been 9 Hispanic Oscar winners, (we’re claiming the Spanish too or else this list would be very short). Let’s hope we can add more Latino names to this list soon.

In the order they are in the gallery:

Benicio Del Toro – Traffic (2000)

Rita Moreno – West Side Story (1961)

Jose Ferrer – Cyrano De Bergerac (1950)

Mercedes Ruehl – The Fisher King (1992)

Javier Bardem – No Country For Old Men (2008)

Pedro Almodovar – Talk To Her (2002)

Anthony Quinn – Zorba The Greek (1952)

Speedy Gonzales – Speedy Gonzales (1956)

Penelope Cruz – Vicky Cristina Barcelona (2009)


0 Responses to "Hispanic Academy Award Winners"